Governing council

Our Governing Council is an important parent body within the school where you can actively participate in decision-making. According to our Governing Council Constitution:

The Naracoorte Primary School Governing Council must comprise 15 members including:

  • the Principal of the school
  • 2 staff members, elected by staff
  • 1 community representative nominated as the
  • Deputy Principal
  • 1 parent nominated by the ASSPA Committee
  • 11 elected parents of the school
  • 2 SRC Executive to attend 1 meeting a term.

As well as the Governing Council there are a number of committees that you can be part of – these are: Environment, Education, Finance, Fundraising, Canteen, OSHC, Sport and Bus.


The Governing Council has a number of sub-committees:

  • Buildings and grounds
  • Environment
  • Fundraising
  • Buses
  • Canteen
  • Finance
  • Sport

If you’re interested in being involved, please let the school know.

Join our Governing council

Parents, students, community members and staff can be part of our Governing council or sub-committees.

Elections for Governing Council occur during Term 1 each year and each person is elected for a two-year term. You can make nominations at our Annual General Meeting or pick up a nomination form from our front office. 

Committee Members

  • Chairperson – Anna Thring
  • Vice Chairperson – Caroline Menzel
  • Secretary – Rebecca Walter
  • Treasurer – Belinda Lowe


James Gale, Belinda Laycock, Naomi Feder, Georgina Fitzgerald, Ali Bussitil, Ali Mort, Nathan Wardle, Paul Harmer and Andrea Lawrie.

Visit the governing councils section on the department’s website for more information.